Lately

[tulips from my mom because she knows i love weekly flowers]

[mark sent my dad a pinata for his birthday, these are my winnings]

[finally tried the limited (bottled) mint mocha frappucino, its goood)

it was available at costco before the holidays, hope they still have it because i want more!

I have been so busy this past week and at the same time I feel like I have gotten nothing accomplished.  This mostly is because I haven’t started my clinical rotations yet (due to a overswamped faculty member), which is making me very antsy since I have a lot of hours to complete in such a short amount of time considering I’m taking a chunk of time off for the wedding.  I did manage  to square away a lot of wedding details which is a huge sigh of relief on many levels, now I just have to square away mortgage/real estate type things…I’m just so tired of communicating with everyone.

One thing I still need to work on is the prickly pear mojito that will be our signature cocktail.  I had a hard time finding prickly pear syrup in the grocery stores (I should have checked BevMo) but did manage to find prickly pear nectar so I brought a bottle of that home to Hawaii.  Over the weekend I made a simple syrup and poured in some nectar — made the prickly pear syrup.  Tonight I’ll have to head to the store and pick up the rest of the ingredients to test out a few recipes.  Wish me luck.  Mojitos are pretty simple so I’m hoping I wont screw it up and chuck it.  My goal is to make one as delectable as the one they serve at the Lodge’s hotel bar…SOOO DEELISH.

Over the weekend I participated in the City & County’s Night in Chinatown parade as a has-been princess.  LOL.  One of my best friends, who was 2nd princess last year, invited me out and we thought it’d be fun to do together.  Chinese New Year’s is right around the corner (January 23 this year).    I can’t believe its been 5 years since my reign on the 2007 Narcissus Court (Narcissus flower, not narcissism) .  Sometimes it feels like it was just yesterday I was having weekly dinners with Governor Lingle, Mayor Hanneman, foreign dignitaries, and the countless Chinese Association/Organizations.  le sigh.  I don’t want to re-live it but I do miss parts of it every now and then — mainly the travel part 🙂 and the inspiring little girls part.  Its amazing how receptive little girls are to women who have crowns on.

So that’s that.  Going to go back into my work corner.  Tootaloo!

Leave a Reply

