This is Why.

I’m not going to lie, I’m not terribly good with the science.  I have to study a lot and I have to learn and re-learn it a million times before it gets burned in my mind but I’ll tell you this: I can tell when something is wrong and I will get help to aid me in figuring things out.  I will call other experts.  I will look things up.  I can tell you I will genuinely care for you.  I can tell you I know there’s more to you than what you’re telling me and what I see.  There’s more to a person than science and medicine.  I know this.  I’m not good with books but I’m good with people.

I see you.  First and foremost, I see you and I hear what you’re saying and what you’re not saying.  I know you’re scared and I will hold your hand.  Literally, I will hold your hand.  I know you are worried about how you’re going to pay for everything.  I know you’re worried about whether or not you’ll recover. I know you have a family to care for and I know you have family that cares about you. I know when you’re not feeling up to par.    I know you’re confused about the millions of pills you need to take and I will sit down with you and sort it out.  I will help you label your bottles so that you understand why you’re taking each damn pill.  I will be just as busy every other health care provider, but trust me, I will care for you and give you as much time as I possibly could.  I chose this profession not because I’m good at the science, because I’m not.  I chose this profession because I want to make a positive difference in your life — and because you will make a difference in mine.

My name is Julia and I will be your Nurse Practitioner. 🙂

Leave a Reply

