Carnival 2012

Its that time of year again!  My best friend Jasmine and I have made it a point to go to the Punahou Carnival every year to get our fix of taco salad.  There is absolutely nothing special about the taco salad except that we’ve made it a tradition for us 🙂 for the past 14 years.

The Punahou Carnival happens every first weekend of February annually and benefits the Junior class.  Quite frankly, the kids who go to school here are not needy and have more dough than anyone on the island…but their school is very smart about putting this event on annually.  This is also the high school that President Obama graduated from, FYI.  It is arguably the most prestigious school on the island, private of course.  I attended a smaller private Catholic (no I’m not Catholic) school right down the street from Punahou, with almost the same tuition, but less facilities and programs for students.  LOL.

This year I also made it a point to try the famed Portuguese Bean Soup.  There is usually a horrendous wait for this but since we went at noon (and the sun was out and scorching) there was no line!

I have to say it’s pretty darn good.  Its a tomato-base soup with chopped celery, carrots, potatoes, cabbage, onions, sausage, and beans.    Its basically like a stew, but more brothy.  I particularly like that the Portuguese sausages is cubed in a very small tasty size.  The only complaint I have is that I only found 1 bean in my bean soup.  LOL!  I guess its good for people who don’t like beans but I love my beans!

I was a happy girl being today :).

Leave a Reply

