Here’s to Serenity

995511_10152198432773362_1670574219_nI’m not a religious person really.  Organized religion just gives me the heebies — ANY organized religion.  I think I just like to believe in such beliefs in the comfort of my own heart in my own home.  It’s just strange y’know…maybe to ‘righteous’ and ‘idealistic’ but business/profit-driven.  I’m not even sure what’s the right word.  There’s also the human part of it that I don’t like — the part where people pick and choose what to follow but still label themselves that particular kind. I’m not going to get myself started with that..but I wanted to share this very popular prayer that I found recently comforting.

Although I’m not religious ( Can you believe I went to Catholic schools my entire life), I am indeed spiritual.    I believe in cycles of life, energy, and karma.  Anyway, my life has gotten gray recently.  Maybe it comes with age.  I used to think most things were black and white and seldomly were things gray.  Maybe that’s the way my life was.  Now, there are lots of grays and many shades (but not like the book, lol).  Things aren’t as simple as they used to be and no matter how hard I try to make it black or white, its still gray.  It’s just out of my control and I need to accept that.  So to comfort myself, I found this serenity prayer and it makes a lot of sense especially the second paragraph.

Give me grace to accept with serenity
the things that cannot be changed,
Courage to change the things
which should be changed,
and the Wisdom to distinguish
the one from the other.
Living one day at a time,
Enjoying one moment at a time,
Accepting hardship as a pathway to peace,
Taking this sinful world as it is,
Not as I would have it.
Leave a Reply

