So Moody

 “I have come to the frightening conclusion that I am the decisive element. It is my personal approach that creates the climate. It is my daily mood that makes the weather. I possess tremendous power to make life miserable or joyous. I can be a tool of torture or an instrument of inspiration, I can humiliate or humor, hurt or heal. In all situations, it is my response that decides whether a crisis is escalated or de-escalated, and a person is humanized or de-humanized. If we treat people as they are, we make them worse. If we treat people as they ought to be, we help them become what they are capable of becoming.” ― Haim G. Ginott

large-1

So glad I came across this paragraph this morning because it is so fitting for the moment.  I’m feeling quite moody at the moment and its only because I’m letting someone’s moodiness affect me.  Its sort of my way of self-defense so that I don’t have to deal with his mood, but I’m not proud of it.  I don’t like being moody when he’s moody because he’s moody A LOT.  To tell you the truth his moodiness is short (relatively), but my moodiness is LONG.  It can ruin a whole day — my whole day that I was so originally excited to have!

A good reminder I read this morning:  Life will always be a roller coaster of ups and downs and it’s easy to get caught up in the moment. Especially when the lows are overwhelming. Start each new day with a fresh perspective and set an intention to allow good things into your life.You never know what opportunity is waiting for you just around the corner.

Leave a Reply

